How to Apply Bloom's Taxonomy in eLearning and Instructional Design

eLearning Bloom's Taxonomy Instructional Design

UI/UX Designer

Bloom's Taxonomy, developed by Benjamin Bloom in the 1950s, is a widely recognized framework for categorizing educational objectives and levels of learning. Originally intended for traditional classroom settings, Bloom's Taxonomy has found new relevance in the digital age, especially in eLearning and instructional design. By leveraging its hierarchy of cognitive skills, instructional designers can create more effective and engaging online learning experiences.

Understanding Bloom's Taxonomy

Bloom's Taxonomy classifies learning objectives into six hierarchical levels, arranged from the simplest cognitive processes to the most complex. These levels are:

  • Knowledge (remembering): This level involves recalling factual information or basic concepts. Learners at this stage exhibit knowledge recall, such as memorizing terms, definitions, or formulas.
  • Comprehension (understanding): At this level, learners grasp the meaning of information. They can explain concepts, translate them into their own words, and demonstrate comprehension.
  • Application: Here, learners use their understanding to solve problems or apply concepts in real-world scenarios. This involves the practical application of knowledge and concepts.
  • Analysis: Learners at this level break down complex information into its constituent parts and examine the relationships between them. They can identify patterns, compare ideas, and draw conclusions.
  • Evaluation: At this stage, learners critically assess information, make judgments, and defend their opinions based on evidence. They can also assess the validity of arguments and the credibility of sources.
  • Creation: The highest level involves generating new ideas, products, or concepts. Learners synthesize information from various sources to produce something original.

Applying Bloom's Taxonomy in eLearning

  • Align learning objectives: When designing an eLearning course, start by setting clear learning objectives for each module or lesson. These objectives should align with the appropriate level of Bloom's Taxonomy. For example, if the objective is for learners to analyze a case study, the assessment and activities should focus on analytical skills.
  • Design diverse assessments: Create assessments that cover a range of Bloom's Taxonomy levels. This allows learners to demonstrate different cognitive skills. Multiple-choice questions may assess remembering, while case studies or simulations could assess applying and analyzing.
  • Use varied instructional strategies: incorporate a variety of instructional methods to cater to different learning preferences and cognitive levels. For remembering, use flashcards or quizzes. For higher levels like analyzing and evaluating, include group discussions or debates.
  • Foster active learning: Encourage learners to actively engage with the content. For instance, instead of simply presenting information, include interactive elements like drag-and-drop exercises, scenario-based simulations, and interactive videos.
  • Progressive complexity: Design your eLearning content in a way that gradually increases in complexity. Start with lower-level tasks to build foundational knowledge and then progress to higher-level tasks that require critical thinking and creativity.

In a nutshell Bloom's Taxonomy serves as a valuable tool for enhancing eLearning and instructional design by guiding instructional designers in creating more meaningful and effective learning experiences. By aligning learning objectives, designing assessments, and incorporating a variety of instructional strategies, eLearning courses can engage learners at multiple cognitive levels and prepare them for real-world challenges. As technology continues to reshape the way we learn, Bloom's Taxonomy remains a timeless framework that empowers eLearning developers to cultivate deeper understanding and higher-order thinking in their learners.

eLearning Learning